Kinect Sports Wins A BAFTA (And By Extension, So Do I)

Yes, last night was the seventh annual British Academy Video Games Awards and Rare capped off the year with a BAFTA for Best Family Game for Kinect Sports, beating out other Kinect titles like Kinectimals and Dance Central. Some of you will be aware that Kinect Sports is also the game I spent most of last year working on in my first gig as a professional video game tester and thus I want to send huge congratulations to all my testing, programming, artworking, developing colleagues who I know worked themselves to the bone to get the game out on time and in such fine shape. It was a pleasure to struggle side by side and monitor by monitor with the lot of you and I can’t wait to do it all again.

The big winner of the night turned out to be Quantic Dream’s Heavy Rain with 3 wins, while Mass Effect 2 took home Best Game. Sadly, my personal favourite Alan Wake did not get any of the three awards it was nominated for.

But I think we can all agree that, despite this, Kinect Sports was the best game of last year, if not the past decade. In fact, I believe we basically made all of video game production entirely obsolete, since we created something which can hardly be matched, let alone bettered. And I hope I don’t sound arrogant when I claim it’s basically all thanks to me and my testing. You’re all very welcome.

All the winners of the evening were:

Action: Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood
Artistic Achievement: God Of War III
Best Game: Mass Effect 2
Family: Kinect Sports
Gameplay: Super Mario Galaxy 2
Handheld: Cut The Rope
Multiplayer: Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit
Original Music: Heavy Rain
Social Network Game: My Empire
Sports: F1 2010
Story: Heavy Rain
Strategy: Civilization V
Technical Innovation: Heavy Rain
Use Of Audio: Battlefield: Bad Company 2
BAFTA Ones To Watch Award: Twang!
GAME Award Of 2010: Call Of Duty: Black Ops
Academy Fellowship: Peter Molyneux

One Response to Kinect Sports Wins A BAFTA (And By Extension, So Do I)

  1. pamurai says:

    Wöuhöu!! Grattis! o^___^o

Leave a Reply

